The TeamTalk Ltd Board of Directors


ROGER SOWRY - Independent Chairman

Roger was a Member of Parliament from 1990 to 2005, including a spell as Chief Whip (1994-96). Following the 1996 election he was Minister of Social Welfare, a position he held for three years. He served as Associate Minister of Health (1996-98) and Leader of the House (1998-99). In 1999 Roger became Deputy Leader of the National Party. Roger retired from Parliament in 2005, moving to become Chief Executive of Arthritis New Zealand. He also serves as a member of the Electricity Authority, and chairs Weltec and Whiteria Polytechnics. He is currently a partner at Saunders Unsworth Limited. Roger became TeamTalk’s Chairman on 27th August 2014.


GEOFFREY DAVIS - Independent Director

Geoff has been involved with TeamTalk for over 15 years in a variety of executive and non-executive roles. In 2015 there was another iteration, with Geoff leaving TeamTalk to become an Executive Director at Armillary Limited. Geoff had previously served as part-time Finance Director for TeamTalk, allowing the group at the time to continue making use of his extensive experience in finance, investment markets and history with TeamTalk. Geoff was also a Director of BayCity Communications Limited and CityLink Limited.


GEORGE PATERSON - Independent Director

George has been involved in accounting and finance for over 25 years, first as a chartered accountant in public practice and then as CFO and Joint CEO of Southern Capital/Hirequip Group which was listed on the NZX at the time. George has a broad range of experience in business and IT systems, banking and financing arrangements, business appraisal and valuation and currently holds directorships with Celtic Services, Mt Work Limited, and Luxon Limited.


TONE BORREN - Independent Director

Tone has been involved in the telecommunications Industry for more than 20 years in roles ranging from heading successful start-up company Mitel, to leading Telecom Wellington, through to turning around the performance of the New Zealand arm of multinational Alcatel. Tone is Chair of Holmes Group Limited and holds directorships in a variety of technology and communications companies such as Shift Limited, Pikselin Limited and CityLink Limited.

Reg Barrett

REG BARRETT - Independent Director

Reg is a Wellington based company director with assignments in both the commercial and government sector in New Zealand and overseas. He is a former CEO of three organisations with Central and Regional government spanning 13 years, a military engineer career spanning 21 years and over 10 years executive experience with Vodafone. He has had over 25 years governance experience as both a Chairman and Director of commercial enterprises and specialist knowledge in civil engineering projects, telecommunications, supply chain, land transport and use of technologies as enablers for enterprises.

Nathan York 2015

NATHAN YORK - Independent Director

Nathan has held a number of senior management and governance positions, primarily in the Māori and property sectors, and is currently the Chief Operating Officer for Tuaropaki Trust and Chair of the Ahu Whenua Trust, Whaiti Kuranui 2D4 Sec1B. He has extensive portfolio management and property development experience, having delivered a number of nationally recognised projects during his prior involvement at Tainui Group Holdings. Nathan has tribal affiliations to Ngā Puhi, Ngāti Raukawa/Tainui and Ngāti Tūwharetoa.